Reality

The Silver Lining

(Let me share a piece I wrote a couple of years back. )

Towards the end of the movie Shawshank Redemption, Tim Robbins’ character Andy Dufrense says, “Hope is a good thing – maybe the best of things – and no good thing ever dies.” That simple statement made a lot of sense to me. Hope epitomises all that is good in this world. It is the beginning of every new adventure, and the cure for the nervousness we feel while approaching a stranger. It is the sliver of light which keeps us going in our darkest hours.

For me, the worst feeling imaginable is the feeling of hopelessness. It is arguable that the fear of death may be the worst feeling. But I think even when people are fearful of mortal danger they carry the hope that they will escape their impending doom somehow. Any kind of fear is accompanied by a curiosity for the future where we imagine ourselves coming out unscathed. There cannot be anything more terrible than when you feel you cannot do anything to change your fate.

This was precisely what I felt in the two minutes that followed the moment when I saw the flames engulf the hydrocracker unit on the evening of 7th April, 2012. The inferno seemed to grow by the second, and the flames were so bright that they appeared six stories tall. There didn’t seem to be anything left except the terrible yellow light and the blood-red sky. And I knew it was the end. There was nothing I could do to change what I was sure was going to happen next – a bigger explosion followed by total incineration of everything in view. A hundred and sixty atmospheres of hydrogen was bound to explode sooner or later.

I averted my gaze from the horror unfolding before me and looked to my left. Some people were running here and there in a chaotic manner. I did not know where they were heading. The look on their faces was of pure terror, and I remember wondering why were they scared? For one wild moment, I felt the urge to join them – to run – to which destination I don’t know, but to run, if only to escape my fate. But I couldn’t. I couldn’t because I didn’t feel any fear. Fear had left me, and as it left, it drained all the hope in me. I didn’t see any point in running away, for I could never outrun the flames. I didn’t see any point in going back to the control room and saving my plant, because there wouldn’t be anything left to save within a couple of minutes, anyway. I just stood my ground and watched them run, all the while thinking that this wasn’t the end I had imagined. So many dreams never realised, so many adventures never embarked upon…so many secrets never told. I had accepted my fate.

As if out of nowhere, one of my unit’s operators shouted, “Hussain, I’m going to the explosion site. You go and normalise the plant.”

Those words went through me like a blast of cold air on a December morning. It felt like someone had turned on a switch which made my senses go into overdrive, which only moments ago had been numb. Suddenly, I was fearful. I was fearful for my life, for my subordinates who were out in the field, and for my friends who were in the main control room, which was closer to the fire. I was fearful for my career, which was at stake if I couldn’t take a safe shutdown. But through all these emotions, I saw the elusive hope. I, somehow, saw myself coming through this terrible nightmare. All the things I was made to memorise to handle such emergencies started coming back one by one. All the necessary emotions filled my mind: logic, reason and faith in my abilities. I was thinking clearly again.

I still don’t know why his words affected me so strongly. Perhaps, it was the sight of a man running towards the possibility of death, or serious injury. Or maybe, it was all those people – seniors, bosses, and friends – who kept calling and reassuring that they were coming soon. I realised those men I had spotted running before, were actually running towards the fire and not away from it. No one seemed to care that they were risking not only their lives, but also the futures of their families.

As every one of them went to the explosion site and started helping the fire-fighters, the lines which divide us ceased to exist. There were no bosses, no managers, no operators, and no foremen. Everyone was equal, fighting for the same cause – even if they had different reasons. Were they fighting for their families who lived close enough to the refinery to get hurt in case of a bigger explosion? Were they fighting for their friends who were in the refinery? Were they fighting so that they wouldn’t be branded cowards later? Whatever might have been their reasons, they all knew this was something they had to do. They were the owners, the servants…the experts. Guiding them was the self-belief, born out of technical expertise and dedicated training exercises. Guiding them was hope, born out of a fear for the lives of their close ones.

And they were not giving up. The never say die spirit that was on display shone brighter than the blaze. Hopelessness could not conquer me for long because hope was all that was around me: through the hard work of the operators, through the calm headedness of the engineers, and through the courage of the fire-fighters. Soon it all ended. The fire was put out. We were victorious.

For me, all that remained was the faint memory of those dreadful moments – and a major realisation – that the greatest fear is the fear of losing hope, which if we apply the rationale I mentioned above, is a contradiction in itself.

This piece is in reference to the major fire that occurred in the refinery where I work. The cause of the fire was determined to be a technical fault. It was the biggest fire in the history of the refinery. It took the fire-fighters and the refinery employees nearly three hours to put out the fire. Fortunately, no casualties took place.

47 thoughts on “The Silver Lining

  1. Aami kichu bolbey nai, Hussain Babu… 🙂 Coz, I never give up either.. especially when it seems like the end is near, I’d rather fight than be a wimp.. Courage is over-rated.. the way they report it later, that is.. but yes, this was courage, in its most basic form… you thought you froze, but you did not run away either. So that is courage.. 🙂
    And as for the thoughts.. did you really think all that then or did it come to you later? At the moment, the mind is racing for solutions.. and if anything else comes at all, it is usually after you have thought everything through..
    Ershad, well said, I am proud of you, both for the post as well as the event.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First of all, the Assamese version of that sentence is “Moi eku nokou, Hussain Babu.” 😛

      The thoughts were a jumble. There was no thread which would say this is the start and this is the end. It took me some time to unravel the knots. There were a couple of minutes where I went blank.

      Thank you, bhai. That means a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 🙂 thanks for the Ahomiya lesson.. my first.. Moi eku nokou… wow, what cadence.. nakko re bawa… Main-ich bola na tere koo… hyderabadi aur assamissi humkoo jamtha nahin… hahaha..
        But thanks..

        And hey.. chotu… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, some pretentious dick who probably invented it after he went to Mexico.. and saw.. oh wow.. that is how it is over there too back home.. Asomiya becomes Ahomiya.. Mexico becomes Mehico, Tijuana become Tihwana.. wow, I have a brilliant idea.. let us say Axomiya.. axiomatic axomis..
        Good going! Hesus Axomiya Charistu…!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh my gosh, Ershad, here is one that will just kill you.. just saw a google new headline … Congress demands that Rahul Gandhi gets a Nobel Prize hahaha.. I haven’t read the story… but the Nobel for humour should surely go to the Congress party hahaha..

        Liked by 1 person

      4. What are you talking about? Where is mine then? I should get the Peace Prize for sending out good thoughts to all the conflict zones and frowning down upon all the aggressors. Haha

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Oh, I couldn’t agree more. I find the Hindu fairly tolerable and occasionally read the Indian Express, but that’s it. You know what’s worse? The Assam Tribune, which has far less qualified writers working for them, usually carries what we used to call news.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know whether it is your post or the fact that the film Talvar is really powerful (I just saw it. #MustWatch) but finding hope in the darkest of circumstances keeps us going maybe. Without hope, we’d as well be dead. Each day you sleep, hoping you’ll be waking up next day. You get out of bed, hoping you’ll make it back. No one thinks of this on a daily basis, of course, but I’m sure sub consciously we ought to be hoping that!
    Uhh. I’m just so full of thoughts right now.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. True courage and selflessness shown by you and your men. Reading the last passage, I could imagine you all battling the fire like soldiers. And its beautiful how you tied it all with hope. The display of courage and bravery and that slight feeling of hopelessness only if momentarily, and the unity during the battle and the victory at the end : truly amazing.
    Also you wrote with such powerful imagery that it was easy enough to imagine the whole event. And alhumdulillah for no casualties. Best action movie script ever 😛

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It was a weird experience. Before this happened, we all thought this kind of thing only happens in refineries outside India. And I admit that some of us took our safety training lightly. This was a true wakeup call.
      Thank you for those kind words. Like KT mentioned before, courage is sometimes overrated. Yes, in hindsight we can call that courage, but at that particular moment we just mechanically did what we were supposed to do.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I guess most of us take safety training lightly believing that such stuff won’t happen. But we shouldn’t eyy? Learning something new each time 🙂
        True that. I still believe you all were courageous azz and not mechanical coz I would just freeze and probably have a heart attack looking at the huge azz flames.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha, you’ll never know that unless you face the situation. I believe most people would have acted in the way we acted. For instance, how about those workers at the reactors of Fukushima.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hmm you are right. Its like the brain shuts off the fear section and activates the adrenaline. Fight or flight and you guys chose to fight. I hope no one has to face such stuff ever but I would like to see me playing the hero sometime 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow. You could’ve made a bollywood film out of that 😀 kidding. No seriously, that was one heck of an incident! It’s a good thing everybody was saved.
    As regards to the hope thing, it is weird. Even when we know we have minimal chance for something we live on the hope to get it. Hope is living.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I’ll see if I can rope in Anurag Kashyap 😛
      Yes, there were a series of ‘mis’-fortunate incidents preceding the fire which actually turned out to be fortunate and aided in no one getting hurt.
      I love how you’ve put it. Hope is living. Indeed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. We never know how we will react to such a situation until it comes! You were brave to accept the fate and you were even more brave when you decided to fight back with that hope .Not giving up is the key! Salute to all brave men there including you who kept their calm in such terrible moments. Thanks for sharing this story with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for all that praise. My chest is as wide as a wrestler’s now.
      Besides I didn’t run because I guess, at the back of my mind, I may have had the thought, “Man, for the life of me I cannot recall where I parked my car today.”
      So you see it was more of a practical reason haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment